Weekly Update 2

Another good week of training and being part of the Runners World Challenge. The only negative was yet another blister issue. I have not had a problem with blisters like this before. Not sure what the root cause is for the blisters so not I have to put Body Glide on my feet overtime I run.

blisterThe blister above was so big and nasty, that it prevented my from running outside. I am lucky that I have a treadmill, so this allowed me to run without shoes. Yes, I ran bare foot on the treadmill and it certainly was a different feeling. I do not know how people can run outside in bare feet. The blister even caused me not to bike as much due to the pain.

Yesterday, I was able to run and bike without pain for the first time in about 10 days. It was also my longest run in a very long time, since December I believe. I even picked a route that had some challenging hills as most of my runs of late have been more or less flat. I treated this run as a LSD (Long Slow Distance) where I ran for 10 minutes and walked for 1 minute. I felt strong on the run which surprised me given the lack of exercise over the last six months.

The stats since my last update:

Running: 38K

Biking: 70K

Swimming: 2K

bikej4 runj7 bikej7This coming week, I will be going for longer distances on the bike with rides of 50K or more. I will start with a ride on the Osgoode to Leitrim trail on the Trek DS 8.3 and then get Bonnie out for a ride in the country. For the running part of my training, I will push myself out to a 10K run.

Until next time…….Hard work beats talent when talent doesn’t work hard.

About fatguy2triguy

On the morning of Dec 21,2010, I woke up not feeling so good. The next thing I knew I was at the Ottawa General Hospital Emergency Room thinking I was having a heart attack. Luckily it was not a heart attack but a chest virus. This event scared me enough to get serious about my health. In the past two years, I have lost 80 lbs, started running races and completed my first half marathon. Though I did not reach my goal of losing 100lbs in two years, I am very happy at my progress so far. I am sure I would have reach my goal if it had not been for a few health challenges in 2012 such as emergency gallbladder surgery followed by a nasty post op infection. At one point we thought the infection was all cleared up but it was not and it went deep. That led to yet another health scare where my doctors were checking to see if I had ALS, MS, Huntington’s or other muscle diseases. It turned out to be a continuation of the post op infection. All this stopped me from training at a level that would have helped me reach my goal. I guess it is true, that what does not kill us, will only make us stronger. I am on the mend now and things are slowly getting back to normal, well as normal as I will ever be. Now it is time to get focused again on my health goals. When I started on this journey, my ultimate goal was to complete the IRONMAN in Kona, Hawaii. That is still a long-term goal that I want to complete by 2015, in the short term I plan to complete IRONMAN Miami 2013. Another goal for the coming year, is not only to complete losing the 100lbs that I started but also to lose another 20lbs on top on that with a goal of being 180lbs by the time I do IRONMAN Miami. Follow me on my journey.

5 responses to “Weekly Update 2”

  1. stuffeyefind says :

    Nice stats. The callouses come after a few weeks the blisters come before then.

  2. bgddyjim says :

    That’s what I wanted to see. Nice work brother. Keep it up.

  3. Mountainstroh (Tony) says :

    How old are your socks? That was one helluva blister!

  4. Pam Brown says :

    I’ve missed a couple of issues of Runner’s World. What’s the challenge?

Leave a comment