Day 7 Out and About…..Bonnie

After many delays due to weather and on my part, I finally got Bonnie out for her first ride of the season. Prior to going out for the ride, I took Bogie on a play date with his buddies Zeus and Trixie. Now we a very strange dog park in our neighbourhood, it is only enclosed on two sides. I am not sure what genius at that city came up with this great idea, especially since the dog park is adjacent to a four lane 80km/h road way. So, if the dogs want to take off, there is really nothing holding them back from getting out on the road way, to make it even better, the dog park is right next to a fire station so if they have to go out on a call, I am sure the sirens could spook some of the dogs.

2013-03-11 18.30.51

Having worked up a good sweat, it was time to get Bogie home so that he could cool down. With Bogie all tired out, this would allow me to a few items to Bonnie in piece as he tends to go for a nap after playing. I put Bonnie in the bike stand to add a like oil to the chain, put on my little seat bag and mount my GoPro to the aerobars. I can only put the GoPro on the aerobars because when the aerobars are installed, there is no place to mount the camera on the handle bars. The one good thing about this is that the field on vision is unobstructed and made for a good video.

As you will recall from posts last year, I had trouble dialing in the gearing on Bonnie, so much so that I ended up scraping the front derailleur, which was a SRAM, and replacing it with a Shamino 105 derailleur. Even then there were issues so it ended up back at the shop late last season. When it came back from the shop, I did not ride it, but stored it for the winter months. I am happy to say that gearing is finally dialed in perfect. Other than a slight chain rub on the front derailleur in low gear, the gears shift perfectly.

Though I will not do it this year, I do plan to replace all the SRAM components with Shimano Ultegra group set as my faith in SRAM is still not high. I would love to install the Di2 group set but given the price, I will wait to purchase a Tri bike that already has it installed.

Video of my ride

I wanted to again take it easy as I have not done much in the way of physical activity since December other than work and a few runs on the treadmill. We had a new bridge open across the river last July but I had not biked across it since opening and I thought this would be a good opportunity to do so. The weather was perfect with sun, low 20’s temperature and moderate wind out of the west. I put Bonnie to the test very early as I went up a long steady climb. The problem that I was having with the gears last year was when going up hill, the gears would slip. Well, that was not a problem this day as the gearing worked very well.

bonnie1

I certainly did not set any land speed record but I did not even sweat during this ride even going up the hills. There was one steep hill and I did not have to get my butt out of the set. The traffic on the roads were ok seeing that it was early afternoon but I still feel a little uneasy riding in the bike lane within the city. There is no doubt that I will get used to it as time goes on.

Well, that was day seven of getting out and I am starting to get into the habit of getting out for either exercise or just doing everyday chores.

This is my first time uploading and editing a GoPro video so I am sorry it is not that great. Until next time, keep the eye on the prize!!

About fatguy2triguy

On the morning of Dec 21,2010, I woke up not feeling so good. The next thing I knew I was at the Ottawa General Hospital Emergency Room thinking I was having a heart attack. Luckily it was not a heart attack but a chest virus. This event scared me enough to get serious about my health. In the past two years, I have lost 80 lbs, started running races and completed my first half marathon. Though I did not reach my goal of losing 100lbs in two years, I am very happy at my progress so far. I am sure I would have reach my goal if it had not been for a few health challenges in 2012 such as emergency gallbladder surgery followed by a nasty post op infection. At one point we thought the infection was all cleared up but it was not and it went deep. That led to yet another health scare where my doctors were checking to see if I had ALS, MS, Huntington’s or other muscle diseases. It turned out to be a continuation of the post op infection. All this stopped me from training at a level that would have helped me reach my goal. I guess it is true, that what does not kill us, will only make us stronger. I am on the mend now and things are slowly getting back to normal, well as normal as I will ever be. Now it is time to get focused again on my health goals. When I started on this journey, my ultimate goal was to complete the IRONMAN in Kona, Hawaii. That is still a long-term goal that I want to complete by 2015, in the short term I plan to complete IRONMAN Miami 2013. Another goal for the coming year, is not only to complete losing the 100lbs that I started but also to lose another 20lbs on top on that with a goal of being 180lbs by the time I do IRONMAN Miami. Follow me on my journey.

One response to “Day 7 Out and About…..Bonnie”

  1. bgddyjim says :

    Excellent job man, a week in a row! Now, let’s work on that “wanting to take it easy” stuff. C’mon brother, dig in. I know you have it in you (if you doubt this, read some of your old posts). Get after it. Bonnie wants to be rode hard and put away wet. It’s in her DNA… And it’ll make you feel like a hundred dollars doing it.

    Save the easy rides for when you’re too tired to go hard. 😎

Leave a Reply

