Day 5 Out and About……Clyde

The temperature raised a little over night so this morning was actually nice and warm. I was sitting back and doing some reading while Bogart was in his favorite place watching the world go by.

bogiwp

All of a sudden, Bogart is bouncing up and down like crazy which could mean only one of two things, either Renee came back from work for some reason or his two buddies Trixy and Zeus were outside. Sure enough his buddies were at the corner along with their owner Sophie. I got a text from Sophie asking if I wish to join in on a pack walk. How could I refuse as Bogie was itching to go!

Three dogs and two owners out for a relaxing walk, well after about 10 minutes of playing they were calm enough to walk. We took a similar route as I took the other day but just a little shorter. I wore my sandals today instead of running shoes as the blisters are still healing. The dogs had a great walk but by the time we got home, they were good and tired.

bogwalk

Once back at the house, it was time to make sure Bogie drank enough water and that he went down for a nap. With Bogie all settled down, I made my way into the garage to do a little fine tuning on Clyde and add a few items. I had to put the bell back on as it fell of last season, also I mounted a new rear flashing light and to top it all off, I put on a mount for my new GoPro camera. This gadget should prove interesting over the next little bit. I hope to put a few videos once I get used to the camera and how to edit the footage.

I grabbed a bite to eat and then went to dig out my bike clothing. It was time now to take Clyde out for a shake out ride. I did not realize how hard the wind was blowing until I made the turn onto Earl Armstrong Rd. It was like hitting a brick wall at time. I cycled through all the gears up and down to make sure that they changed smoothly. Unfortunately, at time they chain jumped the gears so I would have to make an adjustment once I got home. I also noticed that the rear wheel was not spinning as smoothly as it should. The disc brake need an adjustment and I did that on the road by just loosening the barrel adjuster.

bike

All in all, the first ride was good other than the wind making it harder than I expected. I did not plan to go out at a fast pace given it was the first ride but I was happy with my overall effort. The 20K distance was just the right distance for the first ride. I will increase the distance gradually over the next few weeks. Tomorrow, I take Bonnie out for her first ride of the year. I hope to get some video footage of that ride as well.

Until tomorrow, keep moving forward.

About fatguy2triguy

On the morning of Dec 21,2010, I woke up not feeling so good. The next thing I knew I was at the Ottawa General Hospital Emergency Room thinking I was having a heart attack. Luckily it was not a heart attack but a chest virus. This event scared me enough to get serious about my health. In the past two years, I have lost 80 lbs, started running races and completed my first half marathon. Though I did not reach my goal of losing 100lbs in two years, I am very happy at my progress so far. I am sure I would have reach my goal if it had not been for a few health challenges in 2012 such as emergency gallbladder surgery followed by a nasty post op infection. At one point we thought the infection was all cleared up but it was not and it went deep. That led to yet another health scare where my doctors were checking to see if I had ALS, MS, Huntington’s or other muscle diseases. It turned out to be a continuation of the post op infection. All this stopped me from training at a level that would have helped me reach my goal. I guess it is true, that what does not kill us, will only make us stronger. I am on the mend now and things are slowly getting back to normal, well as normal as I will ever be. Now it is time to get focused again on my health goals. When I started on this journey, my ultimate goal was to complete the IRONMAN in Kona, Hawaii. That is still a long-term goal that I want to complete by 2015, in the short term I plan to complete IRONMAN Miami 2013. Another goal for the coming year, is not only to complete losing the 100lbs that I started but also to lose another 20lbs on top on that with a goal of being 180lbs by the time I do IRONMAN Miami. Follow me on my journey.

One response to “Day 5 Out and About……Clyde”

  1. Mountainstroh (Tony) says :

    Those nagging adjustments are always a pain, but well done sir! I know Clyde and Bogie both appreciated it. I made it to work today just before the rain hit! So a good ride for both of us

Leave a Reply

