Let’s Start From the Beginning…..Again

It has been six months since my last post and not much has changed. I continue to fight my PTSD symptoms, though there has been some progress, there is still a lot of work to do before a full recovery happens. My fitness level has taken a huge hit and that has been mostly down to me. Shortly after running the Montreal Rock-n-Roll half marathon, I went into a fitness funk, I had no desire to swim, bike or run. I went so far as to isolate myself from the groups that I ran and cycled with, as well as “unfriend” these groups and people from my FACEBOOK contacts. Why did I do this? The only answer I can give is that I did not want to see other people reaching their goals, enjoying themselves doing their activities and that it was a conscious decision to isolate myself from people again. I even stopped visiting the blogs of people I have befriended over the last 18 months. The other part of my fitness funk is that one of the medications that I am on causes me to crave carbs and I have given in to those cravings way too much!!

Today, I start from the beginning again. I will return to my daily routine as much as possible, connecingt with all those people that have been some of my biggest cheer leaders. In terms of fitness goals, I will start small and work my way up knowing that I cannot just pick up where I left off. As to avoid disappointment, I will not sign up for any races too far in advance of race day. I realize that I run the chance of events being sold out but I will maintain the attitude, if it is meant to be, it will be.

My blog going forward will be a twice a week update that will cover my training and what is going on in my life. I will try to refrain from dwelling on my PTSD, but it is a part of my life and hopefully, this forum will give me another outlet to help the healing process along. I will try to be up beat, but there will be times that my not so happy mood will seep in.

There is one thing that is new since my last post, I got a tattoo!!! Yes, I got a tattoo. So many people that know me would have never guessed that I would get a tattoo. My orginal idea was to get Wile E Coyote chasing the Roadrunner but once I saw the art work, I decided to go a different route.

tat1

Outline

tat3

Inking the outline

tat4

Feeling o.k and no pain

tat2

Starting to fill in the colour

tat5

Finished product

tat6

Close up

In the end, I am very happy with the result and I think it will match up nicely once I get an M dot tattoo on the opposite calf sometime in the future.

That’s all for now and my apologies for the disappearing act and I do hope to be more present from this point on.

 

About fatguy2triguy

On the morning of Dec 21,2010, I woke up not feeling so good. The next thing I knew I was at the Ottawa General Hospital Emergency Room thinking I was having a heart attack. Luckily it was not a heart attack but a chest virus. This event scared me enough to get serious about my health. In the past two years, I have lost 80 lbs, started running races and completed my first half marathon. Though I did not reach my goal of losing 100lbs in two years, I am very happy at my progress so far. I am sure I would have reach my goal if it had not been for a few health challenges in 2012 such as emergency gallbladder surgery followed by a nasty post op infection. At one point we thought the infection was all cleared up but it was not and it went deep. That led to yet another health scare where my doctors were checking to see if I had ALS, MS, Huntington’s or other muscle diseases. It turned out to be a continuation of the post op infection. All this stopped me from training at a level that would have helped me reach my goal. I guess it is true, that what does not kill us, will only make us stronger. I am on the mend now and things are slowly getting back to normal, well as normal as I will ever be. Now it is time to get focused again on my health goals. When I started on this journey, my ultimate goal was to complete the IRONMAN in Kona, Hawaii. That is still a long-term goal that I want to complete by 2015, in the short term I plan to complete IRONMAN Miami 2013. Another goal for the coming year, is not only to complete losing the 100lbs that I started but also to lose another 20lbs on top on that with a goal of being 180lbs by the time I do IRONMAN Miami. Follow me on my journey.

13 responses to “Let’s Start From the Beginning…..Again”

  1. Mountainstroh (Tony) says :

    Dude!! welcome back! I was just thinking about you recently. I have started over many times, you got this. And remember, this is your blog so you write about whatever the heck you want let the blog gods take you where they will!

  2. nancy robertson says :

    It is so good to have you back!! Fantastic blog post. I can relate to so much of what you shared, and I know it will help others to pull themselves out of a funk. We’ve all been there to some degree, and it’s sometimes a necessary break to focus on other priorities and needs. No shame in that at all, it was the right thing for you at that time. Welcome back 🙂

  3. The Padre says :

    WoW, what an interesting post. Now that you have been tatted, I believe you better start adding up some miles, right??? The M dot tattoo will take some time, work, & passion. No need to beat yourself up over the funk as I find it very common to read blogs during the Fall Season where folks just don’t know what to do with themselves after a Summer of training. Meaning: You Are Not Alone!!! The focus becomes simply putting one foot in front of the other. So take it slow, set realistic goals, & smile often. Stay Strong

    • fatguy2triguy says :

      Thanks Padre. I will heed your advice.

      • The Padre says :

        Checking back in with you Mr and just read your de-icing post. I do believe that you have time on your side now?!!??!?! Are you currently rejoining any groups?? Are you walking these days?? When was the last spin on a bike?? I encourage this behavior and might start holding you accountable. I am typing this in the most positive way and I am wishing nothing but success for you during your journey. Congrats on the job and working until the season was over. Last but not least….. You Are Awesome

      • fatguy2triguy says :

        Thanks,Bit a rough day today but my plan is to get back at it tomorrow. I will start will getting the bike out to tune it up and then go for a test ride. After that, will see where things go.

  4. bgddyjim says :

    Having a bit of experience in the whole “hide from my friends who are doing better than me” thing, I can say that what you did is entirely the wrong thing, disassociating with you support network, and entirely too common. I know that pain, I’ve experienced it myself, though long ago. I hope you get yourself sorted out and find a way back. Good luck man. I’ll be pullin’ for you.

    Do yourself a favor and re-friend all of those groups.

    Nice ink too btw.

  5. rmarier2014 says :

    I see so many similarities in our journeys. I too started out obese and sedentary. Fortunately, I only had 50 lb to lose. I then was challenged to run a 5k, and found a new passion. I have since conquered marathons, 70.3’s and even a full Ironman (all very slowly, but I made it to the finish line). I see that we were at a couple of the same events in 2013 (WDW half marathon and Muskoka 70.3). You will be successful in your journey if you want it. Ironman is a BIG goal, and it takes a lot of sacrifice to get there (it threatened my marriage…and I vowed from day one of training that I would never do it again…but I am so happy that I did do it). If you really want it, you will complete it. There are a lot of people like us (former obese couch potatoes) at these events who have turned their lives around. But make sure you are doing it for the right reason. You don’t need something that extreme to live a healthy and fit lifestyle. I tend to be all or nothing and I went big. I have also completed 10 marathons…with 5 on the schedule for this year (one being my first ultra)…and I am starting to suffer from serious burnout. I really don’t know how I will get through this season. I am re-evaluating why I am doing this. I think I needed to prove to myself that I could run a marathon…so I ran 10…just to prove that the first one wasn’t a fluke! I think that, after this season, I will limit myself to sprint and olympic triathlons, and half marathons or shorter events. I may do a full marathon periodically when I feel the desire to train for one…instead of always being marathon ready. I need to make fitness a part of a healthy lifestyle, instead of overwhelming my life…and I am still trying to find that balence point. Set the long term goals that fire up your drive and imagination, and short term goals that are achievable and that you can plan for in the immediate future. One question…why Kona? Any full Ironman is a huge accomplishment. Kona is elusive for the most hardcore triathlete. Many spend years chasing a Kona qualification slot and fail (coaches, multiple Ironman events, picking races based on best likelihood of catching a roll down spot, knowing who their age group competition by name and reading the list of participants before signing up for a race to evaluate the odds etc). Unless you are one of the fastest long distance triathletes on the planet, really lucky in lotteries, or can afford $25,000+ for one on the six e-bay/charity spots, I would look to another Ironman event for starters and seeing how you rank on race day. If full distance triathlon becomes a lifestyle and you are competative, then you may get there. My advice for the first is to just enjoy the experience, don’t set a goal finish time except to cross the finish line. Good luck with the restart, your goals and your dreams. You have done amazing work so far! Congratulations!

    • fatguy2triguy says :

      Thanks a lot for the encouragement and advice. I will certainly compete in a full Ironman other than Kona. I am very realistic that the only way that I can make it to Kona is by the way of a lottery pick. Like you, once I reach my goal, of completing any 140.6 Ironman, I will scale things back to 70.3 and most likely 13.1 races. I am sure I will get a lot more out of the journey to reaching my goals than actually accomplishing the goal itself.

Leave a Reply

