Hopefully The Last DNS For Awhile

This weekend is premier running event for the year in Ottawa. It is Ottawa race weekend time and normally at this time I would be starting to gear up for my race. Unfortunately, after much soul searching this will be yet another DNS (did not start) race for me. Early last week, I thought I just might be able to run my race, but the more I thought about it, the more my anxiety grew and I came to the realization that for my own sense of peace and health it was better to sit this one out. I just could not imagine myself in the sea of people, I believe it is a 10,000 person cap for the 10K, for any amount of time.

Tamrack_Homes_Ottawa_Race_Weekend

I will certainly miss all the fun and excitement that goes along with Race Weekend but mostly, I will miss toeing the start line and celebration party after finishing the race with my friends the most. I will also miss working the race expo this my buddies from the Running Room as I get a charge from hearing the stories from so many people on how they started running and what their goals are for the future. Their stories also gives me motivation to continue on my own journey to IRONMAN.

Today, I being my 12 week training program for my “A” race this year, the St.John’s Triathlon Olympic Distance. So, in preparing for this race, I place to do at least two sprint triathlons before the August 10th St.John’s race.  The two sprints I have decided to do are the Smith Falls Classic on June 28 and the Valens Sprint in Cambridge on July 13th.

2014-05-20_1242

 

I am looking forward to training and hopefully getting back out there with my friends for bikes and runs over the next four months.

Until next time…..”I am keeping my chin up and moving forward” me.

About fatguy2triguy

On the morning of Dec 21,2010, I woke up not feeling so good. The next thing I knew I was at the Ottawa General Hospital Emergency Room thinking I was having a heart attack. Luckily it was not a heart attack but a chest virus. This event scared me enough to get serious about my health. In the past two years, I have lost 80 lbs, started running races and completed my first half marathon. Though I did not reach my goal of losing 100lbs in two years, I am very happy at my progress so far. I am sure I would have reach my goal if it had not been for a few health challenges in 2012 such as emergency gallbladder surgery followed by a nasty post op infection. At one point we thought the infection was all cleared up but it was not and it went deep. That led to yet another health scare where my doctors were checking to see if I had ALS, MS, Huntington’s or other muscle diseases. It turned out to be a continuation of the post op infection. All this stopped me from training at a level that would have helped me reach my goal. I guess it is true, that what does not kill us, will only make us stronger. I am on the mend now and things are slowly getting back to normal, well as normal as I will ever be. Now it is time to get focused again on my health goals. When I started on this journey, my ultimate goal was to complete the IRONMAN in Kona, Hawaii. That is still a long-term goal that I want to complete by 2015, in the short term I plan to complete IRONMAN Miami 2013. Another goal for the coming year, is not only to complete losing the 100lbs that I started but also to lose another 20lbs on top on that with a goal of being 180lbs by the time I do IRONMAN Miami. Follow me on my journey.

9 responses to “Hopefully The Last DNS For Awhile”

  1. Daniel Weise says :

    It takes a smart man to recognize when discretion is needed. Just a thought, why not volunteer at the race to get a bit of the feeling?

    Dan

  2. Noel Paine says :

    Too bad to hear about you pulling out. If it is not an injury or something physical – perhaps you do need to make it to the start line. Anxiety is often more about the time leading up o an event – I bet you would be fine after the gun goes off.

    Love to see you out there. If there is anything I can do to help let me know. But do what you think best – always another battle to fight.

    Run on.

  3. Mountainstroh (Tony) says :

    Hell son, you did right. I have no anxiety and I don’t wanna run with 10000 people!

    You will when you are ready and next year will kick this ones ass

  4. Renee says :

    So proud that you are listening to that little inner voice and aim for reason. You have come a long way baby!!!

  5. bgddyjim says :

    Good luck man. Tough news about the DNS but you’ve gotta be right with it. I have none of your anxiety and I still have a hard time with all of the people who run the Crim (our big race of the year, a 10 miler). I hope you find a way to get through your struggle. Good luck my friend.

Leave a Reply

