Why Do I Run

Recently I gave a talk at a Running Room Clinic about goal setting and motivation, though it took a lot out of me, I was able to get through the 30 minutes but doubling up on my meds that day may have had something to do with that. At the end of the talk, one of the people in the clinic came up to me and asked why did I start running. The simple answer was that it is something I could do right away without a lot of training.

rrwhalf

 

The advantages of running is that it is a sport that can be done solo or in a group. Other than getting a very good, properly fitted running shoes, the investment to start is very low compared to other sports. You can run anywhere, whether on vacation, traveling for work or during a lunch break. Depend on how hardcore you want to be, you can run in just about any type of weather.

There are days that I just enjoy running by myself, it allows me to clear my head and concentrate on my pace as well as my stride. I also like running with just one other person, in this situation, it allows me to encourage and to be encouraged. I have a very good friend, Jenn, she and I run together a lot. We have both been through many struggles as we strive to improve our running and we push each together to improve. Group running is a lot a fun as it allows you to float through the group to be social with so many people.

Since I have started running, I have noticed that so many of my Facebook friends have started running. I do not know if I was the inspiration for them to take up running but if I was, then that is an added benefit. Seeing others working on improving themselves, motivates me to improve and encourages me to get out there on days I just do not have the desire to run.

This is a great time of year to start running while the temperature are not too hot and the days are getting longer. I would encourage anyone to attend the Running Room Wednesday and Sunday run club or even join a learn to run clinic. If there is not a Running Room in your area, most likely there is another running shoe store or local club that organizes weekly runs. If you do not want to start out in a group there a couple of great learn to run apps, such as Ease Into 5K or C25K .

So get out there and run, enjoy the outdoors and all that it has to offer.

Until next time…...”In running, it doesn’t matter whether you come in first, in the middle of the pack, or last. You can say, ‘I have finished.’ There is a lot of satisfaction in that.” Fred Lebow

About fatguy2triguy

On the morning of Dec 21,2010, I woke up not feeling so good. The next thing I knew I was at the Ottawa General Hospital Emergency Room thinking I was having a heart attack. Luckily it was not a heart attack but a chest virus. This event scared me enough to get serious about my health. In the past two years, I have lost 80 lbs, started running races and completed my first half marathon. Though I did not reach my goal of losing 100lbs in two years, I am very happy at my progress so far. I am sure I would have reach my goal if it had not been for a few health challenges in 2012 such as emergency gallbladder surgery followed by a nasty post op infection. At one point we thought the infection was all cleared up but it was not and it went deep. That led to yet another health scare where my doctors were checking to see if I had ALS, MS, Huntington’s or other muscle diseases. It turned out to be a continuation of the post op infection. All this stopped me from training at a level that would have helped me reach my goal. I guess it is true, that what does not kill us, will only make us stronger. I am on the mend now and things are slowly getting back to normal, well as normal as I will ever be. Now it is time to get focused again on my health goals. When I started on this journey, my ultimate goal was to complete the IRONMAN in Kona, Hawaii. That is still a long-term goal that I want to complete by 2015, in the short term I plan to complete IRONMAN Miami 2013. Another goal for the coming year, is not only to complete losing the 100lbs that I started but also to lose another 20lbs on top on that with a goal of being 180lbs by the time I do IRONMAN Miami. Follow me on my journey.

One response to “Why Do I Run”

  1. Mountainstroh (Tony) says :

    Agree completely pal. I added running to my mountain prep because the minute I left the house I was training and it didn’t stop till I got back in the house, I did run quite few organized runs with a friend and that made them fun, but I preferred to run ride and hike alone.

    Damn good job doing the talk pal!

Leave a Reply

