The Foot Bone Is Connected To The….. Well Everything Else

When watching so many programs on the Discovery or National Geographic Channel, you will often hear phrases like, space the final frontier or the ocean is final frontier on earth. Well if these are the final frontiers, what is the first frontier? To me the first frontier is the human body. Each and every body is unique and has so many mysteries that if we knew everything about the human body then there would be no illness, or everyone would compete on the same level.

The reason I bring this up is that today I was part of a charity run. I wanted to use this run to gauge how I was feeling and how much demand I could put on my body at this point. The run was called the Santa Shuffle, not too scary, Santa in the name and I was sure I could at least shuffle. It was not like I was going to go out and do the Death Race or Tough Mudder, no just something nice and relaxing.

I met up with a group of people who I ride with and was part of Team Fun. Again, nice and pleasant team name so nothing serious. It was a cool winters morning, had it not been for the wind, it would have been perfect. Some of the ladies wore tutus, the dogs had on reindeer antlers or cool scarfs and the guys, well we dressed like guys. Oh wait, we had one guy dress up with a santa hat and jacket which balances it out for the rest of us guys.

1477894_772852632730301_1300961906_n

The run was on roads that ran through a government building complex. I was hoping that these buildings would at least cut the wind somewhat. The start went off pretty much as scheduled but it was not your typical mad panic start but a nice leisurely start. I kept up with the group for the first kilometre but I knew that was not going to last long. By the 2 Km point of the run, I was starting to feel the effects of a long lay off from running but for the most part I was feeling good.

Then at the 3 KM point, that is when pain slowly but surely started to creep in. I had fully expected that I would first feel pain in my left knee that was injured in the bike accident but no, I started to feel pain in my wrists of all things. How is it that a part of the body that is not impacting the road start to pain first? It is an utter mystery to me. At the 4 KM mark, that is when my ribs started to hurt and it was on the exhale and not the inhale as one would think. Another mystery of the human body as it will zig on you when you think it will zag. By the time I crossed the finish line, pain was radiating from the finger tips of my left hand, all the way up to my left elbow and my ribs were starting to hurt on the inhale and exhale. To my complete surprise, no knee pain, that is until I got home and noticed that it had swollen up a bit with some mild discomfort.

2013-12-07 18.06.58

The explanation I can come up with why the wrists started to hurt was that the vibration radiating from foot impact worked all the way up to my arms. It is the only thing that makes sense to me, but I am sure there are great medical minds that would have a better explanation for me. I also came to the realization today that I am better off of training inside on the treadmill as I was so scared of slipping and falling that I was not very relaxed . Running inside will be boring but I would much rather be bored training inside than have to be laid up again if I re-injure my wrists from a slip and fall.

2013-12-07 18.07.53

Even with the pain, it was great to be outside and moving the body again, as well as catching up with friends. Only time will heal this body of mine and I have to make sure it heals properly as it is the only body I have.

Until next time…. Take care of your body. It’s the only place you have to live. Jim Rohn 

About fatguy2triguy

On the morning of Dec 21,2010, I woke up not feeling so good. The next thing I knew I was at the Ottawa General Hospital Emergency Room thinking I was having a heart attack. Luckily it was not a heart attack but a chest virus. This event scared me enough to get serious about my health. In the past two years, I have lost 80 lbs, started running races and completed my first half marathon. Though I did not reach my goal of losing 100lbs in two years, I am very happy at my progress so far. I am sure I would have reach my goal if it had not been for a few health challenges in 2012 such as emergency gallbladder surgery followed by a nasty post op infection. At one point we thought the infection was all cleared up but it was not and it went deep. That led to yet another health scare where my doctors were checking to see if I had ALS, MS, Huntington’s or other muscle diseases. It turned out to be a continuation of the post op infection. All this stopped me from training at a level that would have helped me reach my goal. I guess it is true, that what does not kill us, will only make us stronger. I am on the mend now and things are slowly getting back to normal, well as normal as I will ever be. Now it is time to get focused again on my health goals. When I started on this journey, my ultimate goal was to complete the IRONMAN in Kona, Hawaii. That is still a long-term goal that I want to complete by 2015, in the short term I plan to complete IRONMAN Miami 2013. Another goal for the coming year, is not only to complete losing the 100lbs that I started but also to lose another 20lbs on top on that with a goal of being 180lbs by the time I do IRONMAN Miami. Follow me on my journey.

Leave a Reply

