It’s More Than A Store

I have mentioned the Running Room in several of my posts through out the year. There is a reason it is not called the Running Store, as it is so much more than a store. To me, the Running Room is a community of people that truly care about one another, coupled with the passion of running. A meeting place where friendships are formed  and a place where like minded bond to reach a common goal.

This past week, the location I run out of, had a Grand Re-opening and it was the first time I had been to the store for Wednesday night run club since my accident. I had so many approach me to ask how I was feeling or how my recovery was coming along. Then there were a number of people that had not heard about the accident and were surprised that I was even out for the event. As I made my way around the store, it was interesting to hear all the conversations about what was happening in each others lives. People were asking about how someone was feeling, what their holiday plans were, or how their training was coming along. You could hear how genuine people were with their inquiries which is so rare these days.

This sense of community that the Running Room has, starts from the top down. John Stanton, the founder of the Running Room was in attendance for the Grand Re-opening. I was so amazed to see him interact with so many people, knowing so many by name, if he did not remember a persons name, he would remember what their last race was and ask how it went.

922494_10151768260992019_1962861649_o

John Staton Founder of the Running Room Photo by Ian Hunter

The Running Room helps organize so many runs across Canada that benefit local charities or community programs. The Running Room involvement in these runs brings awareness to these causes that helps benefit our communities on so many levels.

When most stores have a grand opening, it is to promote the store and make a lot of money off of sales, not the Running Room.  The Running Run takes this opportunity to celebrate running and helping a worth while cause. On this night, the benefactor was the Salvation Army where money raised, stays in the community. In less than two hours, runners deposited $1,137 into the iconic Salvation Army Kettle, great for the Salvation Army, great for our community.

1479150_10151729318796626_161884949_n

Photo by Ian Hunter

1481840_771068726242025_786959478_n

Photo By Sean Maddox

Now, do not get me wrong, the Running Room is not a non-profit company. By building a sense of community and being a great corporate citizen, the Running Room will be a great Canadian success story for many years to come. I am proud to be associated with such a great company by being part of one of their clinics, a group leader and hopefully some time in the near future, a clinic coach.

Until next time……We can never get a re-creation of community and heal our society without giving our citizens a sense of belonging.” Patch Adams

About fatguy2triguy

On the morning of Dec 21,2010, I woke up not feeling so good. The next thing I knew I was at the Ottawa General Hospital Emergency Room thinking I was having a heart attack. Luckily it was not a heart attack but a chest virus. This event scared me enough to get serious about my health. In the past two years, I have lost 80 lbs, started running races and completed my first half marathon. Though I did not reach my goal of losing 100lbs in two years, I am very happy at my progress so far. I am sure I would have reach my goal if it had not been for a few health challenges in 2012 such as emergency gallbladder surgery followed by a nasty post op infection. At one point we thought the infection was all cleared up but it was not and it went deep. That led to yet another health scare where my doctors were checking to see if I had ALS, MS, Huntington’s or other muscle diseases. It turned out to be a continuation of the post op infection. All this stopped me from training at a level that would have helped me reach my goal. I guess it is true, that what does not kill us, will only make us stronger. I am on the mend now and things are slowly getting back to normal, well as normal as I will ever be. Now it is time to get focused again on my health goals. When I started on this journey, my ultimate goal was to complete the IRONMAN in Kona, Hawaii. That is still a long-term goal that I want to complete by 2015, in the short term I plan to complete IRONMAN Miami 2013. Another goal for the coming year, is not only to complete losing the 100lbs that I started but also to lose another 20lbs on top on that with a goal of being 180lbs by the time I do IRONMAN Miami. Follow me on my journey.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. I’m SANTAstic! | RunRChatts - December 7, 2013

Leave a Reply

