What I Have Learned Since My Bike Spill

Since I began my journey almost three years ago, I have had my fair share of ups and downs, but this latest set back has been by far the most limiting in what I can do. As much as I want to do some physical activity, I do worry about sweat get in and around my casts. Also, because showering is such a production, having to shower each day would be just too much.

Never at anytime in my life, have I had so much ideal time. I do try to make the most of the time, spending a lot of it reading about subjects that interest me, but you can only do so much of one thing before it gets boring. The great fall weather we have been having has not helped with me desire to be outside running or biking. It is funny how I look forward to a trip to the dentist, doctor or shopping, none of which I like, just so I can be out of the house for a little while.

2013-10-15 16.27.48

Post Surgery

Like all the other times I have had a set back, I try to learn something. Below in no particular order is what I have learned so far.

1. It is ok to ask for help from family and friends. I let my male ego get in the way of letting people help me, when I should have accepted offers of help.

2. Though our health care system may not be perfect, when called upon, it works very well. I am certainly greatful to all those medical professionals both here in Ontario and British Columbia that put me back together.

3. Given the extent of my injuries, I had to learn that resting is ok. I did try to do a few things in the last week, only to regret it a short time later.

4. In the early stages of my recovery, that the healing process burns a lot of energy and that not fueling my body properly could come back to bite me in the butt.

5. Prior to my accident, I could not believe how well developed my calf muscles had become. It took all summer of running, riding and cross fit training to get them like that. Now when I look at them, it is like a bowl of jell-o. It does not take long to lose muscle mass.

6. I ashamed to say it, but I had not been to the dentist in 14 years. With my time off, I decided to go. I was amazed at the advancement is dental technology. No longer the scary or painful experience it once was. On the upside, I only had one small cavity.

7. In searching for things to read, I was amazed at the quantity and quality of the writting of a number of bloggers out there.  I have learned so much from peoples real life experience and I hope I can translate that into by own experience.

8. YouTube is such a great resource. I have been spending a lot of time watching clips on triathlon training as well as learning how to do things on my iPad and MacBook. Google is no longer my main search engine.

9. I watched a lot of TV unfortunately and the one thing I can say for certain, is that reality TV is so far from reality it is not funny.

10. Whoever is the person that categorizes movies by genre really needs to give their head a shake. I do not know how many movies that I viewed on demand that were categorized as comedy where I did not laugh once.

11. The amount of crappy movies that are out there is unbelievable. I cannot believe how some of them got financed.

12. How expensive personal care items are for people  who are physically challenge. I am glad that I have insurance that covers such items.

13. Sometimes it takes a set back like this to realize how many friends you have. I have been overwhelmed by the amount of concern and get well wishes from so many. I am truly humbled.

14. Drinking beer through a straw sucks. Really it does! I could not believe how much different a beer tastes when drinking through a straw. Not something I will ever do again.

15. You would be surprised how much you can do even with a couple of broken wrists. Where there is a will, there is a way!

2013-10-17 11.19.39

Fun Gift From My Tri Friends

If the stars align and everything goes as planned, I should be back to semi-normal by mid November. On the up side, the right cast will be removed on October 29th, which will give me more freedom and mobility. I have already met with my physiotherapist to start planning my return to training and she believes that it will not take long to get my joints back into working order.

Until next time……..“Character cannot be developed in ease and quiet. Only through experience of trial and suffering can the soul be strengthened, ambition inspired, and success achieved.” Helen Keller

About fatguy2triguy

On the morning of Dec 21,2010, I woke up not feeling so good. The next thing I knew I was at the Ottawa General Hospital Emergency Room thinking I was having a heart attack. Luckily it was not a heart attack but a chest virus. This event scared me enough to get serious about my health. In the past two years, I have lost 80 lbs, started running races and completed my first half marathon. Though I did not reach my goal of losing 100lbs in two years, I am very happy at my progress so far. I am sure I would have reach my goal if it had not been for a few health challenges in 2012 such as emergency gallbladder surgery followed by a nasty post op infection. At one point we thought the infection was all cleared up but it was not and it went deep. That led to yet another health scare where my doctors were checking to see if I had ALS, MS, Huntington’s or other muscle diseases. It turned out to be a continuation of the post op infection. All this stopped me from training at a level that would have helped me reach my goal. I guess it is true, that what does not kill us, will only make us stronger. I am on the mend now and things are slowly getting back to normal, well as normal as I will ever be. Now it is time to get focused again on my health goals. When I started on this journey, my ultimate goal was to complete the IRONMAN in Kona, Hawaii. That is still a long-term goal that I want to complete by 2015, in the short term I plan to complete IRONMAN Miami 2013. Another goal for the coming year, is not only to complete losing the 100lbs that I started but also to lose another 20lbs on top on that with a goal of being 180lbs by the time I do IRONMAN Miami. Follow me on my journey.

15 responses to “What I Have Learned Since My Bike Spill”

  1. Ben Caspi says :

    Hey Duane. No fun. I hope your recovery takes an accelerated pace. If you need any help get in touch. I have time on my hand to do as I wish, not as I am told.

  2. Chatter says :

    Hope all gets better soon. Having that much down time now would drive me nuts, I am already having withdrawals as I head into my off season. Take care.

  3. Mountainstroh (Tony) says :

    And here I complain about a cold and being stuck away from ge bike… Good job pal, and the rock hard calls will come back soon!

  4. Pam Brown says :

    I’m catching up on blog reading and am just now learning of your accident. Bless you! I hope you heal quickly!

  5. stuffeyefind says :

    Think of it as a hill and there will always be hills.

  6. Wayne says :

    In case I didn’t make it clear before, if you need me, say the word… or have your lovely wife call me. 🙂

  7. Nicole Dupuis says :

    Hang in there Duane! All of this is just fuel to power those grueling workouts once you can hit the training trails. I’m so impressed with your tenacity and ability to turn adversity into another growing experience! You’ve inspiring me to get off my butt and get out there.

  8. Sandra says :

    Good lessons to learn from a horrible injury. Your wreck makes mine sound like a four year old tipping over into the grass. Either way, we were both lucky. Me more so than you. I am so so glad that you weren’t hurt worse! I read this summer in someone else’s blog about a long-time cyclist who crashed in a peloton while riding with friends. Smacked his head and died on the way to the hospital.
    Thanks for the motivation to ride today. I will ride for you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

