Keeping Up When I Am Down

Being an athlete, I never thought I would use this term to describe myself, and not being able to train can certainly be a downer. Over the last few years, I have had my share of injuries which stopped me from training for short periods of time. The first few times that I could not train really got me down, almost to the point of depression. I would spend my time being pissed off that I could do anything physical and the effect that would have on my weight loss goals. Another reason that I got down so easily was the fact that I was so laser focused on my goals and not achieving my goal on the date planned was not an option.

I have had to learn that making adjustments to my goals was ok, as well that I could give myself permission to abandon a goal if it was not realistic to accomplish. With each and every set back I have learned more about myself and my mental strength has increased ten fold. We all have training plans, weight management plans and race day plans. Well, I now have an injury recovery plan so as not to set myself back mental.

This plan consists of many parts to keep the mind engaged so as not to brood on not being able to train. One part is to spend my time watching motivational/inspirational videos on Youtube. There are so many incredible stories of people overcoming adversity that you cannot feel that your injury pales in comparison to what the other person went through. I also watch a lot of the past Ironman Championship, though it is great watching the pros, it’s the stories of the age groupers that inspire me to continue you on my journey.

Another part of my plan was to limit what I watch on tv. I try to stay away from shows that involve heavy topic or any type of news programing. For the most part, I find this type of programing toxic and leaves me with too many negative thoughts. The type of program I will watch is mostly comedy as laughter is the best medicine and I do find this to be true for me. Though over the past few weeks, I tried watching on demand movies that were labeled as comedy only to realize that they were far from being funny at all. Glad I did not pay for the movies as it would have been a waste of money because I stopped watching after 30 minutes without so much as a taha, gafa or chuckle.

Reading is always a great way to keep the mind engaged and has been one of my favorite past times in recent years. Once again, I try to read items that the subject matter is not too heavy. I mostly read magazines about running or triathlon, or books about the history of the sport of triathlon. It is so interesting to see how much the sport has evolved over the past 35 plus years. Since I have started writing my own blog, I have started to read, as well as follow other blogs. It is great to follow people whose journey is so similar to my own. People have said that I have been an inspiration to them, but I need to be inspired as well so reading these blogs helps me to get inspired. Reading other blogs is a great way to get information from people who do something or use a product on a daily basis and not just a one time thing.

The best part of the plan is to keep engaged with people with similar interests. Surrounding yourself with positive people will lift you up emotionally and spiritually. The week after my latest set back, I joined my running friends for a post race breakfast. I wanted to hear their stories on how their race went and feed off of their post race energy/high. This past weekend, my good friend Jenn came by my house to pick me up and to go for coffee with a group of people who I have been training with for the past three years. It was great to be out of the house but it was even better to be around friends to shoot the shit. Though a lot of them wanted to talk about my spill and injuries, I would quickly change the subject as I did not want to dwell on my injuries nor did I want the conversation to revolve me. When in this type of setting, I want to hear about everyone else, to get their positive energy.

It’s a simple plan but one that is working very well for me, as you can see from the picture below. If you do not have an injury recovery plan yet, it is best to get one in place because there will come a time that you will need it.

20130918-223218.jpg

Until next time……My dad always said, ‘Champ, the measure of a man is not how often he is knocked down, but how quickly he gets up.’Joe Biden

About fatguy2triguy

On the morning of Dec 21,2010, I woke up not feeling so good. The next thing I knew I was at the Ottawa General Hospital Emergency Room thinking I was having a heart attack. Luckily it was not a heart attack but a chest virus. This event scared me enough to get serious about my health. In the past two years, I have lost 80 lbs, started running races and completed my first half marathon. Though I did not reach my goal of losing 100lbs in two years, I am very happy at my progress so far. I am sure I would have reach my goal if it had not been for a few health challenges in 2012 such as emergency gallbladder surgery followed by a nasty post op infection. At one point we thought the infection was all cleared up but it was not and it went deep. That led to yet another health scare where my doctors were checking to see if I had ALS, MS, Huntington’s or other muscle diseases. It turned out to be a continuation of the post op infection. All this stopped me from training at a level that would have helped me reach my goal. I guess it is true, that what does not kill us, will only make us stronger. I am on the mend now and things are slowly getting back to normal, well as normal as I will ever be. Now it is time to get focused again on my health goals. When I started on this journey, my ultimate goal was to complete the IRONMAN in Kona, Hawaii. That is still a long-term goal that I want to complete by 2015, in the short term I plan to complete IRONMAN Miami 2013. Another goal for the coming year, is not only to complete losing the 100lbs that I started but also to lose another 20lbs on top on that with a goal of being 180lbs by the time I do IRONMAN Miami. Follow me on my journey.

3 responses to “Keeping Up When I Am Down”

  1. Mountainstroh (Tony) says :

    Well hell son with a picture like that I am impressed you can type! Or did you use your nose?

    I only watch the walking dead on TV. Mindless zombie entertainment. I blog and read. So I think you have an excellent plan.

    I am going to stop whining though. I am stuck out of town for 2 weeks soon, no cycling at all! Just workout room. But I am not in the middle of a major recovery, so I need to deal. You will come back twice as strong!

  2. kruzmeister says :

    You have a great attitude Duane and like mine it is evolving to include thinking more positively about the things that happen beyond your control which side line you. I feel for you, you’ve had so much bad luck with injuries lately, but I also think I know you well enough by now that you will rise even stronger and be a better athlete because of it. I hope your recovery is swift and I look forward to following your journey and sharing in your victories with you. Maybe 2015 will be our year!

  3. kruzmeister says :

    BTW, I have nominated you for the WordPress Family Award! – http://meltdowntoironman.com/2013/10/22/wordpress-family-award/

Leave a Reply

